IREG Forum 2013

IREG Forum on University Rankings organized by the International Ranking Expert Group (IREG), Poland Academy of Sciences, University of Warsaw and Warsaw University of Technology was held in Warsaw on May, 16-17 2013.

alt   alt 

The forum was attended by more than 130 participants from Romania, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Ukraine, Spain, France, Italy, Kazakhstan, Canada, the Netherlands, Czech Republic, Australia, Germany, Turkey, Russia, Mexico, Estonia, Denmark, Hungary, Albania, Croatia, Sweden, China, Portugal, USA, Brazil and Latvia. Methodological issues of rankings were discussed on the forum.

Closed meeting of IREG Executive Committee was held on May, 15.
Jan Sadlak, President of IREG and Valdemar Siwiński, President of Perspektywy Education Foundation, opened the Forum on University Rankings.

Within the forum five sessions were held on the following issues:
1.    Methodological Challenges in Conducting University Rankings and Institutional Classifications.
2.    New Rankings and New Methodological Approaches.
3.    How University Ranking Relates to Other Approaches for Quality Assurance and Sources of Information.
4.    New Look at Policies, Methodologies and Practices of University Rankings.
5.    Ranking Methodologies: Universities’ Experience and Expectations.
Also the special session and IREG Audit were conducted with Alex Usher, President of Higher Education Strategy Associates, Canada as a Chair.  
The last event within the forum was the closed session of IREG Observatory General Assembly with the official ceremony of admission to full IREG members of the following organizations:
1.    “Expert RA” Agency (Russia)
2.    Jagiellonian University in Krakow (Poland)
3.    Eurasian National University named after L.N. Gumilev (Kazakhstan)
4.    National Centre for Public Accreditation (Russia)
5.    National University of Political and Administrative Studies (Romania)
6.    University of Bucharest (Romania)

Galina Motova, D.Sc., professor, took part in the Forum on University Rankings as the representative of the National Centre for Public Accreditation.